lily pads are floating

Lily pads in front of the New Orleans Museum o...

Lily pads in front of the New Orleans Museum of Art (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

a burbling little brook
with water so crystal clear and new
flows slowly through the woods in my heart
on a path directly from me to you

lily pads are floating
at a pond fed by this gentle stream
down through your valley
open and spring green

this steady flow of love
will always be there
even if you build a dam
with an “I don’t care”

, ,

  1. #1 by annybytheriver on November 18, 2012 - 10:50 pm

    How perfect.

    • #2 by RKHouse on November 19, 2012 - 12:15 am

      I guess I haven’t changed that much in 35 years since I wrote this poem. It kinda reminds me of the very recently written poem, “hidden hot springs in my heart“.

  2. #3 by emmylgant on November 21, 2012 - 2:15 pm

    Beautiful. Lucky her.

    • #4 by RKHouse on November 21, 2012 - 7:42 pm

      Ah, but the unwritten stanza of this poem is

      But I was too shy
      And never told her how I felt
      So really the only dam
      Was the one that I, myself, built

  3. #5 by emmylgant on November 21, 2012 - 10:36 pm

    Why didn’t any body tell us that a broken heart wasn’t the end of the world but that taking a chance might be the beginning of a world? the Hallelujah of Cohen’s song… and by the way, I like Jeff Buckley’s rendition best.

Leave a Reply

