ker-plunk

Early morning at Malibu Lake in the Santa Moni...

Early morning at Malibu Lake in the Santa Monica Mountains near Malibu, California, which is located on the northwestern edge of Los Angeles County, May 1975 (Photo credit: The U.S. National Archives)

I heard a familiar sound in the air
and listened to it echo and fade
then pondered the face in the water
of the puzzled reflection that I made

a vision that was broken up by waves
from a rock I mindlessly tossed
making a loud ker-plunk sound
before becoming forever lost

as the sun peeked out from behind
the soft cotton clouds floating overhead
and reflected off the stillness of the water
reminding me of something I left unsaid

but I forgot what I was thinking
and the point I was wanting to make
so I got into a gently rocking row boat
then cast off and floated away on the lake

, , ,

  1. #1 by emmylgant on December 7, 2012 - 3:08 pm

    Beautiful imagery.You are not alone.

    • #2 by RKHouse on December 8, 2012 - 12:02 pm

      Thank you. As often happens, I started with the intention to write about something different, but instead this is what came to my mind at the time. πŸ™‚

  2. #3 by 35andupcynicismonhold on December 9, 2012 - 12:10 pm

    “and reflected off the stillness of the water
    reminding me of something I left unsaid” – πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

