an echo of empty words

Newgrange Entrance Stone

Newgrange Entrance Stone (Photo credit: Qole Pejorian)

wimpy wispy words
lie and await
humbled in the uneasy unconscious

mind like megalithic stones
scattered about abstractly
in a meaningless jumble

near an entrance to nowhere
containing nothing except emptiness
or a void without form

without power
and full of unfulfilled promise
and to no purpose

where all is illusion
and nothing is real
unless I want it to be

, , , ,

  1. #1 by RKHouse on December 16, 2012 - 11:25 am

    I guess this is what happens when I try to write a poem, but really have nothing to say.

  2. #2 by emmylgant on December 16, 2012 - 1:19 pm

    It isn’t nothing. It is about the craft itself, the power the poet imparts, the reality of the though only he can give. I don’t know RK, but it seems to me you sell yourself short….. I attempted the same thing in White Night on my blog, for what it’s worth. Smile my friend.

    • #3 by RKHouse on December 16, 2012 - 5:46 pm

      I sat down to write a poem about the terrible tragedy in Connecticut, but I wasn’t satisfied with how that one came out. As a result, I wrote and posted this one instead. I am my own harshest critic, I suppose. I think I try to channel my creative writing professor from college to improve my writing. He was very good and was able to be critical and helpful and yet encouraging at the same time.

  3. #4 by Ina on December 16, 2012 - 3:08 pm

    Nothing is real unless I want it to be 🙂 that, to me, is poetry!

    • #5 by RKHouse on December 16, 2012 - 5:50 pm

      I get lucky with a line here or there, now and Zen. 🙂

  4. #6 by 35andupcynicismonhold on December 17, 2012 - 7:28 am

    “… unless i want it to be.” – 😉 love the ending sir… hello, Merry Christmas! 🙂

    • #7 by RKHouse on December 17, 2012 - 10:32 am

      Merry Christmas to you too, San. Glad you enjoyed the last line. Last lines are really important to me. I often spend most of my efforts on the ending of a poem. 🙂

Leave a Reply

