gravatar graveyard

blogging

blogging (Photo credit: hgjohn)

sadly, here’s to old friends whose blogs are now gone
for in my memory their writing will linger on

over time, I’ve grown accustomed to some blogs
mostly poetry but a couple are prose or photo logs

and when I’m in a meeting at work or when I’m all alone
I’m looking forward to each email on my smart phone

or at night when I can find some quiet time
to pull up the reader and look for some fine lines

I often see many gravatars that I recognize
that have left their mark and clicked like to apprise

forming a small community spread all over the world
meeting sometimes on line to share our love for words

so, is it too late for me to say some blogs will be deeply missed?
and that, for me, the memory of their words will forever persist?

, , , ,

  1. #1 by mixedupmeme on December 26, 2012 - 5:55 pm

    Some months ago I followed some bloggers and really enjoyed the content. Lately I don’t see new content. I really wonder what happened as I really miss seeing their gravatar pop up once in a while. I wonder if anyone will miss me when I kaput. lol

    • #2 by Ronald Kirk House on December 27, 2012 - 3:42 am

      I know what you mean, when someone stops posting, it could just be a little case of writer’s block or it could be something else. So, it is easy to wonder and worry. And when the gravatar of someone that is reading and liking my blog disappears, I also wonder. Was it something I wrote? Or are they just busy with life which is not a bad thing? Or perhaps just bored with my little blog?

      The hardest thing for me has been to go to a blog I’m following and to see it has been deleted and/or their gravatar profile deleted. That makes me wonder and worry. The first blog I started following was a fellow poet that was one of the first readers to like one of my posts. He was very prolific. He included photos with all of his poems and that inspired me to go back and do the same. Although, I think he may have taken the photos that he was posting and I generally just use zemanta to find photos. One day, without warning, I went to read his blog and it was not there. I kept going back periodically, thinking he might be reworking it or something. But, his blog never returned. I googled for his work but only found references to blog posts that no longer existed. That was something of a shock to me. I was really new to blogging and it hadn’t occurred to me that people might delete their blogs at any time.

  2. #3 by mixedupmeme on December 27, 2012 - 4:34 am

    Well said. There are a lot of us who want more from blogging than just to put an idea out there. More than just to give advice. More than just to sell a product. We like and want the fun and joy of meeting new people. We like the interaction. And of course that makes us rather vulnerable. But no more than in real life I guess. 😦

    You wrote of having bloggers not coming around your blog any more and finding their blog no longer exists.

    I have bloggers not coming around my blog anymore and their blog still exists!!! Now that really is a shock. lol

    We takes what we gets I guess. 🙂

    • #4 by Ronald Kirk House on December 27, 2012 - 9:04 am

      LOL. Of course, I have bloggers not coming around like that, too. 🙂

      When I started my blog, my primary desire was to document my old college poetry and songs on line. Only later did I slowly discover other blogs. There are some really talented people posting on wordpress. I feel very lucky to have become aware of them, and interacted with some of them in my own little way. 🙂

  3. #5 by Bruce Ruston on December 27, 2012 - 1:45 pm

    I know what you mean about bloggers coming and going

  4. #6 by Jennifer Adams Teasley on December 28, 2012 - 4:23 pm

    Darling rhyme! So many friends I have made online through blogging and so many I miss….

Leave a Reply

