looking for a unicorn

English: A unicorn.

English: A unicorn. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

2012 is finally over and it seems we are all still here
of course, that doesn’t mean this is gonna be a good year

I worry for my country’s future and our economic prospects
although, I fear we will deserve exactly what we get

in the realm of USA politics, basically nothing has changed
and all our politicians seem more than a little bit deranged

so, our national debt increases by about 3.82 billion every day
and my 52K share is already 52K more than I can afford to pay

and looking for a good job this year will be like looking for a unicorn
or like looking for a soul mate in the lonely land of the lovelorn

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Ronald Kirk House on January 2, 2013 - 11:35 am

    This poem started out titled 2013 and I was intending to write a follow-up to my “on the last day” poking more fun at the end-of-time doomsday predictions. But I had the TV on and all the talk is about the fiscal cliff and that got me going in another direction entirely. Over the cliff and down to the rocks below, of course. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. #2 by emmylgant on January 2, 2013 - 12:39 pm

    Lemmings ‘R us?

    • #3 by Ronald Kirk House on January 2, 2013 - 1:00 pm

      LOL, that would be a great title for a poem. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • #5 by Ronald Kirk House on January 2, 2013 - 10:05 pm

      I have a little poem inspired by this line. Is it okay if I publish it and give you credit for the title?

      • #6 by emmylgant on January 3, 2013 - 4:38 am

        Go for it Ron. i am honored to have inspired something. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. #7 by 35andupcynicismonhold on January 10, 2013 - 5:34 am

    really like the last two lines… ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

