the night of paranoid probabilities

Delphi, Greece

Delphi, Greece (Photo credit: Mr G’s Travels)

Last night I dreamed that I had returned to Tennessee and was looking for a job, but wherever I went my efforts were being sabotaged by some unseen entity. I had spent the last ten years of my life working on a huge computer modeling system for the government. We called it Delphi, the Probability Machine. I was the creator and chief systems architect for the system. Originally, it was designed to model scenarios and probabilities for the Department of Defense. For example, what might happen if two nuclear tipped missiles were lost in the Mediterranean Sea from an aircraft carrier? Delphi would model and predict how fast our enemies, from terrorist groups to foreign countries, would find out about the incident and how they would respond to it. Over time, though, Delphi was tied directly into huge information gathering systems at the National Security Agency. It began modeling more and more activities and scenarios that were not specifically defense related. Recently, the administration began using it to predict how the population would respond to their actions and what they needed to do to get re-elected and stay in power. I realized that Delphi was being misused and was trying to think of what I should do about it, when Delphi predicted that I was a threat and would try to shut it down. So, I was fired from my job and lost my clearance, which was how I had found myself back in Tennessee with everyone seemingly against me. How could I compete against my own creation that could predict everything that I was likely do before I could even think to do it myself?

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Jennifer Adams Teasley on January 13, 2013 - 2:09 pm

    You have very realistic dreams! My dreams are generally a jumble of unrealistic events that are highly improbable:) I assume this was a bit of a nightmare;)

    • #2 by Ronald Kirk House on January 15, 2013 - 9:03 pm

      Yes, a bit of a nightmare although not as scary as some nightmares that I have. Sometimes my dreams are more jumbled and fragmented like you describe, and things that appear to make sense in my dream, seem obviously nonsensical shortly after I wake up. My favorite dreams are the ones where I want to go back to sleep as soon as I wake up. 🙂

  2. #3 by Joan Miranda on January 15, 2013 - 7:17 pm

    that is so beautiful. i love the lines . How could I compete against my own creation that could predict everything that I was likely do before I could even think to do it myself?. You are legendary. keep writing mr. keep writing for i’ll always be here wishing to read your works

    • #4 by Ronald Kirk House on January 15, 2013 - 9:28 pm

      Thank you, that is very sweet of you to say. So, you really made my day!

  3. #5 by 35andupcynicismonhold on January 16, 2013 - 9:47 pm

    hahaha. some quandary you got there, sir. isn’t there a program to untangle the knots, huh? 😉

    • #6 by Ronald Kirk House on January 21, 2013 - 2:42 am

      LOL. I should try to expand this into a short story sometime so I would have to figure out a way to untangle it all as I worked on the plot. 🙂

Leave a Reply

