find your soul mate

Soul Mate

Soul Mate (Photo credit: ahhyeah)

is it destiny in this mortal life
for soul mates to meet
or else we are forever forced to endure
a life that is somehow incomplete?

perhaps, I once quietly sat next
to my soul mate while riding on a train
or maybe we were star-crossed and never met
because she lives far away up in Maine

my soul mate may have softly sat
next to me while I was a youth in school
and I never talked to her
because I was such a shy silly fool

my soul mate may have walked by me
every lonely day I was at work
and I never took a moment to notice
because I was an unobservant jerk

as a result, we are both now fated
to be incomplete and alone
and I can’t even call her now and then
to talk about nothing on the telephone

so, I must humbly apologize
to the soul mate that I never met
and I can only hope that my epic failure
she will be able to forgive and forget

, ,

  1. #1 by emmylgant on January 14, 2013 - 2:47 am

    Oh my dear Ron, here you express so well the unbearable loneliness of being, the regrets we all have at opportunities missed and roads not traken. I share your burden.

    • #2 by Ronald Kirk House on January 14, 2013 - 3:18 am

      No doubt there is a lot of loneliness out there in this world. I remember one day wondering if I had let down my soul mate by being shy and never stepping up to the plate, so to speak. This thought made me very sad at the time.

  2. #3 by tonyprance on January 14, 2013 - 2:51 am

    Reblogged this on komtack and commented:
    It’s all about nuffin’
    It’s just words my friend
    up to the end- and then..
    well we really don’t know-
    we try our best to pass this test
    if it’s up top or down below….
    don’t be hard on yourself
    it’s mostly top shelf- life really is fun-
    it’s up to you – just like stew –
    it tastes better with a toasted bun.
    A bun you say? Well not every day …
    what about toast or a muffin ?
    It seems to me if your decisions are free
    you can’t complain about nuffin…!!

  3. #5 by mixedupmeme on January 14, 2013 - 3:27 am

    Really liked this entry.

    We need a bunch of soul mates
    To match all our whims and wishes
    Sometimes we take the easy way out
    And accept whatever life dishes

    Just speaking for myself…lol

    • #6 by Ronald Kirk House on January 21, 2013 - 2:40 am

      I like the idea of a bunch of soul mates. Perhaps our fellow bloggers are all our “poetic” soul mates, in a way?

  4. #7 by 35andupcynicismonhold on January 16, 2013 - 9:49 pm

    oh, you are so sweet, sir. probabilities do skew up – what the hey… 😉 🙂

    • #8 by Ronald Kirk House on January 21, 2013 - 2:24 am

      San, my kids are both sweet. Well, most of the time they are. But, I’m just an old sour puss. LOL 🙂

  5. #9 by gladiuspoeticus on January 19, 2013 - 9:06 pm

    Beautiful nostalgia

  6. #11 by omgvivienlopez on January 23, 2013 - 10:17 am

    ohmygod. this feels sad, yet so sweet.

    I believe it took all the workings of luck plus the events of the universe that have started in the big bang plus a chance I risked taking that I have my soulmate right now. Had I acted otherwise…

    • #12 by Ronald Kirk House on January 23, 2013 - 10:25 pm

      A little luck never hurts, humanity does seem to be lucky beyond all belief. But taking a risk is important, too. Congratulations on your luck or fate at finding your soul mate!

Leave a Reply

