the night of not wanting to be touched

English: Fungus, Huntly, Banbridge (2) Resembl...

English: Fungus, Huntly, Banbridge (2) Resembling something from a 50Β’s science-fiction film, this jelly-like fungus was growing on dead wood beside the old railway 921790. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I dreamed last night that I was meeting my old best friend from high school, David. We were going to an all night science fiction film festival. We hadn’t seen each other since high school and we had some catching up to do before the first movie started. So, we were sitting outside the theater on a bench talking when a person walked by that looked very strange. The person was covered with what looked like a dark green fungus and their eyes where blacked out so that it was obvious they couldn’t see. They were walking with their arms outstretched. At first we thought it was someone acting like a zombie for some horror movie festival or something. I don’t like horror movies. We continued talking and David told me that he had inherited a lot of money and was going to England to study. Then we noticed that when the strange walking person touched someone else the person they touched was rapidly covered with the same alien green fungus and also began walking around blindly. It happened so fast they barely had time to cry out.Β  We looked at each other and said let’s get out of here. I patted David on the shoulder and wished him luck as we separated to leave. On the way out the the theater I ran into another old friend, Gail. I ran up to her and gave her a hug and kiss. She was unaware of the situation, so I quickly told her what we had seen. Just then a large crowd came out of a theater yelling and screaming and we were swept along and separated. I never saw her again after that.

Outside the theater, I watched more and more people turned into these green fungus covered zombies walking blindly in the streets. I ran to the nearest police station and was trying to explain the situation but they thought I was crazy. Just then the first infected person was let in the front door and the infection quickly began to spread. I escaped and made my way to a cliff thinking that since they couldn’t see I would be safer there. Of course, blind people can’t see where they are going, so there were still people there. I was working my way over a ledge and trying to figure out how to climb down to below when I woke up.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by emmylgant on January 15, 2013 - 12:44 pm

    Eeeewww!!! I am glad I wasn’t in that nightmare! Jeepers Creepers! What did you eat the night before?
    Bbrrr.

  2. #3 by parmis rad on January 15, 2013 - 2:22 pm

    were you glad to wake up? … I dream vivid nightmares that play out horror movies. You said you weren’t a fan of horror movies but you certainly could write one if you wanted to! I’m sure a shrink can read “read” into this dream if you let them. πŸ˜‰

    • #4 by Ronald Kirk House on January 15, 2013 - 9:11 pm

      Yes, I was glad to wake up. I was getting to the point of having nowhere left to go. I mainly remember being worried about my friends and if they were okay after we separated. As much as I hate horror, I would go through it all again for another hug from a dear friend. πŸ™‚

      I suppose a shrink could make a lot out of some of my dreams. I don’t generally try to analyze them myself. I remember that woke up and thought, “what was that?”. Some kind of a “kinder, gentler zombie” that just touches instead of eats flesh? It occurred to me that something about “touch” was important in the dream and thus the title. I know that I’m a touchy person in real life. Note that I pat one friend on the shoulder and hug the other, but spent the rest of the dream trying to not let anyone else touch me. I find that interesting even if I don’t fully understand it. πŸ™‚

  3. #5 by Tom Elias on January 15, 2013 - 10:38 pm

    Holy cow. I normally enjoy oddball dreams like this but I suspect this is one where there was an undercurrent of latent fear. Creepy.

    • #6 by Ronald Kirk House on January 16, 2013 - 2:11 am

      I love science fiction, but generally horror is not my cup of tea. My daughter on the other hand loves zombie movies, so I’ve bought her about every zombie movie on DVD and watched most of them with her. So, zombies are not a big fear for me or anything. I suspect the zombies represented my feeling that people are blind to the “reality” that I see or experience. Or, they could just be oddball zombies. At least, they weren’t flesh eating zombies, that is so cliche. πŸ™‚

  4. #7 by gladiuspoeticus on January 18, 2013 - 4:01 pm

    You got me half way under the bed. I don’t like horror either, but this is a great story that woud make Hitchcock sit up and pay attention. πŸ™‚

    • #8 by Ronald Kirk House on January 18, 2013 - 7:05 pm

      LOL. If I wasn’t asleep dreaming it, I would have been hiding under the bed, too. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

