The little lost trilobite

Trilobite

Trilobite (Photo credit: Trailmix.Net)

there’s something about possessions
about having something of your own to hold
something to treasure and to keep forever
and to bring back memories when getting old

I wonder what happened to the little trilobite?
it was a fossil that I loved as a child
somehow over the long years it was lost
along with arrowheads I found in the Indiana wild

I used to hold my trilobite in my hands
and think of it alive and swimming in an ancient sea
I would feel like we were connected through time
and that was once so very important to me

, , ,

  1. #1 by mixedupmeme on January 18, 2013 - 4:48 am

    I don’t think I have ever seen a real trilobite, but I understand what you mean about those little lost things that were such treasures.

    When we retired and moved to our dream home lol, I wanted to toss a lot of my grown kids’ junk. But I packed it up and put it somewhere. Recently I told them to come and get it or it was going to be tossed. They came and got it.

    I really liked this rhyme. I feel like I was the one who wrote it. lol
    I like things I can understand. 🙂

    • #2 by Ronald Kirk House on January 18, 2013 - 11:11 am

      I’m glad you liked the rhyme. My trilobite fossil was only a couple of inches long, so it was perfect for holding. I’m not really sure why this little creature, that has been extinct for 250 million years, is fascinating to me, but it is. Perhaps, it is the combination of size and shape. I wasn’t sure anyone else could relate to the trilobite fossil as a treasure. It could just be me. I used to keep mine, with my arrowheads and other little treasures, in a little cigar box I got from my grandfather. 🙂

      • #3 by emmylgant on January 18, 2013 - 12:11 pm

        No, it’s not just you. My son had one he picked up somewhere when he was twelve or so and treasured it. I always thought it was neat to have the remnants of something that was alive eons ago. It’s all relative.

        • #4 by Ronald Kirk House on January 18, 2013 - 7:14 pm

          I’m glad to know I’m not the only one. 🙂

  2. #5 by omgvivienlopez on January 23, 2013 - 9:50 am

    I want to hug that trilobite, even if it’s dead.

    But not just trilobites. I think everything that’s gone extinct are treasures. There is something about the lost that makes us appreciate them even more so. Perhaps it’s the regret that they aren’t around anymore, and the wonder of the life they have lived before us.

    • #6 by Ronald Kirk House on January 23, 2013 - 10:30 pm

      I agree, life and the history of life is such a wonder. And sentient life, that can appreciate the wonder of life, is beyond amazing.

Leave a Reply

