my room

My room, photo by RK House.

My room, photo by RK House.

I feel safe and secure, alone in my room
listening to my power pop music play
relaxing and typing on my laptop
daydreaming in private is the only way

I think I should turn on my lava lamp
but I’m too lazy to get up out of my chair
so, I’ll watch my globe change color
close my eyes and let my mind roam elsewhere

periodic waves of the universe are lapping
on the beaches surrounding my private island
as I leave my body and go for a galactic swim
with my spirit skinny dipping as my thoughts expand

finally returning to the music playing in my room
where I fall asleep for a little afternoon nap
it’s too bad I don’t get the benefits of exercise
sitting in my room taking my mental interstellar lap

, ,

  1. #1 by lydiaa5656 on January 26, 2013 - 8:24 pm

    Am hoping for such ride myself, but first I have got to let my room turn blue. Great piece RK.

    • #2 by Ronald Kirk House on January 27, 2013 - 3:09 am

      LOL, yes. The color changing led globe is an important part of the mood. 🙂 Glad you liked the piece.

  2. #3 by emmylgant on January 27, 2013 - 3:46 am

    “galactic swim
    with my spirit skinny dipping” love it!

    • #4 by Ronald Kirk House on January 29, 2013 - 3:24 am

      That stanza is my favorite. I was tempted to take just that stanza and try to expand that into a separate poem, but the rest of the poem served my purpose of having something to go with my photo. And, besides, I was in a hurry to get toweled off and back into some dry clothes. 🙂

  3. #5 by Bruce Ruston on January 27, 2013 - 4:46 am

    Nice and the music play softly on

    • #6 by Ronald Kirk House on January 29, 2013 - 3:20 am

      Thanks. I don’t spend enough time just listening and enjoying my music collection these days.

  4. #7 by 35andupcynicismonhold on January 27, 2013 - 8:13 pm

    ahaha, your spirit soars and travels far and away… 🙂 like the skinny dipping touch…

    • #8 by Ronald Kirk House on January 29, 2013 - 3:17 am

      Yes, that’s me, off far and away skinny dipping in the oceans of methane on Triton. Not good to try to do that kind of stuff physically, of course. 🙂

  5. #9 by mixedupmeme on January 28, 2013 - 5:32 am

    Mental exercise is good for you.

    • #10 by ladysighs on January 28, 2013 - 10:37 am

      I don’t know Meme. You don’t seem to exercise your mind that much. 😦

      Maybe that is the good part………for others that is. 🙂

    • #11 by Ronald Kirk House on January 29, 2013 - 3:09 am

      LOL. I obviously don’t get enough exercise, mental or otherwise. 🙂

    • #12 by 35andupcynicismonhold on January 30, 2013 - 11:50 pm

      skinny dipping in methane n- what the… 😉 you take care, sir RK. is it still wintery over there? 🙂

      • #13 by Ronald Kirk House on January 31, 2013 - 5:00 am

        LOL. It doesn’t usually get very cold where I live in California, so it doesn’t feel wintery.

  6. #14 by Lara Klein on January 28, 2013 - 10:31 pm

    Nice Photography, I like it.

    • #15 by Ronald Kirk House on January 29, 2013 - 3:03 am

      Thanks! I like photography and wish I had spent the time to learn what I was doing. 🙂

  7. #16 by Ina on February 2, 2013 - 12:59 pm

    Enjoyed your room! 🙂

    • #17 by Ronald Kirk House on July 17, 2014 - 10:20 pm

      Thank you! I probably should have cleaned up before the picture, but that is how my room usually looks. Just a little messy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

