her tight turtleneck sweater

English: Unfolded turtleneck

English: Unfolded turtleneck (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’m standing alone
in the frigid cold weather
thinking how we were once destined
to get together

remembering her so near
in her tight turtleneck sweater
way back when
she simply couldn’t look any better

but you know
I’ve never been much of a go-getter
and I never did send her
that long love letter

and now my old eyes
inexplicably feel a little wetter
so, I better move on
and find some warm shelter

, , ,

  1. #1 by Ronald Kirk House on February 6, 2013 - 9:15 pm

    Perhaps a little formulaic, but a lot of my stuff follows well worn ridges in the road, I guess. Anyways, I’ve always had a weakness for a woman in a sweater.

  2. #2 by emmylgant on February 7, 2013 - 5:50 am

    Or in a red dress… 🙂
    Hugs.

  3. #4 by slpmartin on February 7, 2013 - 9:13 am

    Oh looking back on such moments…letters never written or words never said…does indeed my the winter winds much colder….you brought back a few of my own memories with this poem.

    • #5 by Ronald Kirk House on February 16, 2014 - 2:19 am

      Thanks, It’s good to know that our words sometimes actually have some impact and are not just lost in the vast internet.

  4. #6 by 35andupcynicismonhold on February 8, 2013 - 5:06 am

    ahaha, shy people write verses. what to do, eh? 🙂 have a happy weekend, sir RK….

    • #7 by Ronald Kirk House on February 11, 2013 - 3:11 am

      Yes, I know shy well. I wrote a lot of verses in my youth, that mostly were never seen, until this blog, that is. 🙂

Leave a Reply

