remembering tiananmen square

Tiananmen Square - 1989

Tiananmen Square – 1989 (Photo credit: Marco Crupi Visual Artist)

in China, the discussion and remembrance
of June 4th is officially prohibited
and the sad facts have been hidden
and to this day remain rather limited

when the people’s soldiers and tanks
were sent on their way to Tiananmen Square
filled with students peacefully protesting
and waiting for them there

and the people of Beijing rushed out
into the streets to block the army’s progress
as soldiers fired upon them with orders
that this was something they needed to suppress

the exact numbers of injured and dead
will likely never be known
and we can never count the students tears
or hear the wounded people moan

such common bravery demonstrates
what freedom and liberty is all about
and this is the kind of thing
we must forever remember, without doubt

, , , ,

  1. #1 by emmylgant on February 6, 2013 - 11:52 am

    You are right. True freedom comes at a price. It is not a state of mind.

    • #2 by Ronald Kirk House on February 6, 2013 - 8:49 pm

      I wonder sometimes how many of us living in western democracies remember the true costs of our freedom. And we don’t have governments that try to suppress our memories and deny the truth.

  2. #3 by mixedupmeme on February 6, 2013 - 4:15 pm

    Remember…yes
    But how many have soon forgot? 😦

    • #4 by Ronald Kirk House on February 6, 2013 - 8:46 pm

      I hope someday that in China people will be able to freely remember and pay tribute to those heroes that lost their lives in these events.

  3. #5 by lydiaa5656 on February 6, 2013 - 4:26 pm

    Yes R.K, i just did a piece on it myself with a brave student stood in front of a armed tank.The Chinese authority as done everything possible to let the whole event be by gone.The prize for freedom, oh man.

    • #6 by Ronald Kirk House on February 6, 2013 - 8:43 pm

      I was watching a TV show on Tiananmen and that moved me. I remember the incident, but I learned things in the recent show that I did not know at the time of the events. I’ll look for your piece on this.

      • #7 by lydiaa5656 on February 6, 2013 - 9:10 pm

        The piece I did was not a poem, but in another blog I was talking about boldly going to God in prayer from a spiritual perspective.Reference from the incident was ideal for me to use, So I do some background check and my surprise the whole is been censor, and the state of denial, the cover up is so much.

        • #8 by Ronald Kirk House on February 6, 2013 - 9:17 pm

          I know what you mean, I think the censoring and cover-up is what prompted me to want to write this more than anything.

Leave a Reply

