the night of childhood fears revisited

English: Don't waste your time and do your hom...

English: Don’t waste your time and do your homework! (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Last night, I dreamed that I was back in high school. I think it was a 9th grade English class. I had a big semester project that was due in a few days, but I hadn’t even started on it yet. I was supposed to have been writing a thirty page autobiography paper, but it didn’t interest me and so I had totally avoided it. In class, I was trying to hide the fact that I was really sweating and scared from my teacher’s all seeing eyes. I really liked her because she was pretty and often wore short skirts. So, usually this was my favorite class. But today, all I could think about was the trouble I was going to be in and my mind imagined the look on her face when she discovered my utter failure. Then I became aware that she was asking for “previews” starting tomorrow. Each of us were going to have to stand up in front of the class and read a couple of pages of our papers. Uh oh. That was going to be a real problem for me, and of course, I was on the list for tomorrow. That night I was torturing myself trying to think of something to write for the next day when I woke up.

Fifty two years old and I’m still dreaming about wasting my time not doing my homework and the fear of being caught unprepared in school?Ā  I wonder if there is such a thing as Post Scholastic Traumatic Stress Disorder?

, , , ,

  1. #1 by slpmartin on February 11, 2013 - 4:01 pm

    Oh…I’m certain that PSTSD must exist….enjoyed your post.

    • #2 by Ronald Kirk House on February 11, 2013 - 11:25 pm

      Thanks. I am just glad I don’t have to finish the paper I was working on in my dream, now. šŸ™‚

  2. #3 by Alarna Rose Gray on February 11, 2013 - 8:28 pm

    The mind is incredible isn’t it? I had hoped those sorts of dreams might eventually recede… Apparently not!

    • #4 by Ronald Kirk House on February 11, 2013 - 11:21 pm

      Check back with me in another ten years. I still have hope. šŸ™‚

  3. #5 by Ina on February 19, 2013 - 1:34 pm

    Lovely posting šŸ™‚ I still have nightmares about school. At least your dream is sort of pleasant!

    • #6 by Ronald Kirk House on February 20, 2013 - 12:58 am

      It surprises me to have dreams like this after all these years, but I guess I shouldn’t be surprised. In dreams, anything is possible.

  4. #7 by 35andupcynicismonhold on February 20, 2013 - 5:30 am

    haha, love how you named that particular disorder, sir RK… really laughing my ass off. hey, i say, you and i must buckle down to work, huh! some slackers, hehe… šŸ˜‰ hello and regards!

    • #8 by Ronald Kirk House on February 24, 2013 - 1:51 pm

      LOL. Yes, you have discovered my secret, I’ve always been a laid back lazy slacker, San. I should do something about that, but I’m too busy relaxing right now. šŸ™‚

  5. #9 by emmylgant on February 20, 2013 - 6:43 am

    High school traumas are way under studied! šŸ™‚

    • #10 by Ronald Kirk House on February 24, 2013 - 1:49 pm

      LOL, I would have sworn that I rarely think about school days, but obviously unconsciously I do. At least i my dreams. šŸ™‚

  6. #11 by Yahobahne on February 21, 2013 - 5:26 pm

    Lol! A funny ending—PSTSD. But perhaps that dream was a reinvention of your blog posts. And your teacher maybe symbolic of the viewers of your blog. šŸ˜‰

    • #12 by Ronald Kirk House on February 24, 2013 - 1:44 pm

      LOL, you may be right. I remember feeling so relieved after I woke up that I didn’t have to write down all the ideas I was thinking about for my paper. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

