her hair was golden

English: A still portrait of actress Ginger Ro...

English: A still portrait of actress Ginger Rogers issued by a movie studio (RKO?) in the 1930s. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

her hair was golden
rays of sunshine

her hands regal
delicate and soft

her smile so sincere
and devastating

her every move
a dance step

her heart was open
and beating so true

her eyes were windows
to all that I had lost

, , ,

  1. #1 by Ronald Kirk House on March 10, 2013 - 12:00 am

    This is not really about Ginger Rogers, but her picture really does fit perfectly, I think.

  2. #2 by suzywordmuser on March 10, 2013 - 3:44 am

    Aahh – this is very lovely! 🙂

    • #3 by Ronald Kirk House on March 14, 2013 - 10:48 am

      Thank you. I started with just the desire to build something around “her hair was golden” and this is what I came up with. Love the picture of Ginger.

  3. #4 by slpmartin on March 10, 2013 - 9:08 am

    Wonderful portrait in words.

    • #5 by Ronald Kirk House on March 14, 2013 - 10:51 am

      Thank you. I originally had more to this portrait, but I really like to keep things short. And after I found the picture of Ginger, I limited myself to about enough lines to go along with that. Ginger did inspire the additional “dance step” line, though. 🙂

Leave a Reply

