to a far shore

English: Frensham Great Pond South shore of th...

English: Frensham Great Pond South shore of the Great Pond (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

early evening standing alone
on our old creaky wooden pier
while the water gently lapping
is the last sound that I hear

across the great pond
the orange ball of the sun is slowly setting
as all the sorrows and troubles of the day
I am now finally forgetting

rowing in boat with its worn paint peeling
at the end of another long day
I am heading to a far shore beyond the mists
to a place where all my cares will go away

, , , ,

  1. #1 by 35andupcynicismonhold on March 9, 2013 - 9:50 pm

    “where all my cares will go away” 😉 ahaha, what a moment! hello, sir RK… hope you are well. 🙂

    • #2 by Ronald Kirk House on March 10, 2013 - 12:04 am

      Hi San! I’ve got a nasty cough from a cold that never seems to go away, but other than that I’m doing well. How are you?

  2. #3 by RL King on March 10, 2013 - 6:45 am

    I loved this. A serenity to it.

    • #4 by Ronald Kirk House on March 14, 2013 - 10:53 am

      Ponds are usually very serene settings, I think. I don’t actually live near a pond, but I wish I did. I make that mythical wish a setting for my poems sometimes. So, I at least get to go there in my poetry.

  3. #5 by emmylgant on March 10, 2013 - 7:30 am

    Beautiful and soulful.

    • #6 by Ronald Kirk House on March 14, 2013 - 10:57 am

      Thank you. I once wrote an updated version of hushabye mountain, called “return to hushabye mountain“. I love that melody. This was an attempt to capture some of the same feeling but in my own rhythm and form.

      • #7 by emmylgant on March 14, 2013 - 12:49 pm

        You did well. Keep it up.:-)

  4. #8 by slpmartin on March 10, 2013 - 9:20 am

    Lovely verse.

    • #9 by Ronald Kirk House on March 14, 2013 - 11:04 am

      Thank you. At times I fear my poetry is too plain and simple compared to real poets. But my poetry is me in my most natural form, I think. No escaping that fact, so, I might as well embrace it. It is what I am. 🙂

  5. #10 by 35andupcynicismonhold on March 15, 2013 - 5:30 am

    hello, there… i hope your cough has gone away, ahaha. oh, it feels like am just going to get down with something – the heat. lots of problems but what the hey, still kicking, sir. thanks… 🙂

    • #11 by Ronald Kirk House on March 23, 2013 - 3:08 am

      I hope you are doing well, San! My cough is still lingering but is slowly getting better. Take care in the heat over there!

Leave a Reply

