baby steps

Baby Steps

Baby Steps (Photo credit: Jason L. Parks)

my father’s father died
shortly before I was born
making him the grandfather
that I’ve never known

so, I don’t remember him
holding my little hands
when I first tried to learn
to begin to stand

and I don’t remember him
saying “It’s Okay, Grandpa’s here”
when I first fell down
and shed an early tear

nor do I remember him
gently rocking me to sleep at night
or burying my little face against him
to feel safe when I first felt a fright

he wasn’t there to encourage me
to try my first mashed green peas
and I never heard him laughing
and saying “bless you” when I first sneezed

now, I’m blessed to see my son’s daughter
take her first baby steps and grow
but I wonder if any of these same moments
she will remember after I go

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by emmylgant on March 13, 2013 - 1:54 pm

    There are no answers to your question Ron. Very lovely poem. I hope there is a hard copy of it somewhere for her to find later on. Smile.

    • #2 by Ronald Kirk House on March 14, 2013 - 10:46 am

      I know. I just like to pose the questions. 🙂 My sister says she remembers things from when she was very young. I envy her that ability. My memory of things like that, just isn’t that good. My memories are more like mixed up puzzles. There are fragments here and there, but nothing seems to fit together.

  2. #3 by emmylgant on March 14, 2013 - 12:48 pm

    My earliest memory is like a snapshot. I was probably 3. No context at all. So you see, it is common.

  3. #4 by gladiuspoeticus on April 2, 2013 - 4:45 pm

    You bet she will remember, Ron!

    • #5 by Ronald Kirk House on April 4, 2013 - 1:37 am

      I like to think so. Or if not the whole memories of the moments, then perhaps the memory of the love.

  4. #7 by 35andupcynicismonhold on July 11, 2013 - 2:29 am

    hello, sir RK… hope you are well… just dropping by to say am going to tag you for the super sweet blogging award. hope its alrighty… many thanks and will come back to give details about the nomination. warm regards. 🙂 san

    • #8 by Ronald Kirk House on July 11, 2013 - 3:09 am

      Thank you, San. I am always glad when you drop by and I am honored that you want to nominate my humble little blog. You are one super sweet blogger, without doubt.

      • #9 by 35andupcynicismonhold on July 11, 2013 - 3:36 am

        ahaha, your site is one of the sweetest. 🙂 do you perhaps think sweetness comes with aging, sir RK? 😉

Leave a Reply

