lullaby lines

Sleeping on Grandpa (photo by RK House)

Sleeping on Grandpa (photo by RK House)

with little Ellie asleep on my chest
and my laptop balanced precariously on my knee
I slowly and oh so carefully type with one hand
and try to write some of my simple poetry

snippets of my life and experiences
boiled down into just a few words and rhymes
until she suddenly sneezes and wakes up crying
and I lovingly rock her and sing a few lullaby lines

, , ,

  1. #1 by unfetteredbs on March 17, 2013 - 1:56 am

    lovely! and lucky you πŸ™‚

  2. #3 by mixedupmeme on March 17, 2013 - 3:26 am

    More than lovely… πŸ™‚

    • #4 by Ronald Kirk House on March 23, 2013 - 2:47 am

      Thank you. Of course, grandpa thinks she is lovely, too! πŸ™‚

  3. #5 by suzywordmuser on March 17, 2013 - 9:38 am

    So very sweet -a precious moment in time!
    Suzy πŸ˜€

    • #6 by Ronald Kirk House on March 23, 2013 - 2:49 am

      I actually took the picture a month or so ago and have been meaning to write a little poem to post with it. Every moment with this little sweetie is precious to me, of course!

  4. #7 by slpmartin on March 17, 2013 - 11:59 am

    Now that’s the way to spend a Sunday morning!

  5. #9 by emmylgant on March 17, 2013 - 2:16 pm

    Awww! Sweet. The poem isn’t bad either. Smile.

    • #10 by Ronald Kirk House on March 23, 2013 - 2:52 am

      Thanks! She is a really sweet baby. At times, she reminds me of my two little ones. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

