let me be

Atlas sculpture, New York City, by sculptor Le...

Atlas sculpture, New York City, by sculptor Lee Lawrie. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

let me be
an individual not a cog
in a collective machine

let me create
and innovate
for my own sake

I will not ask
anyone to be my slave
and I will not be a slave to anyone

I will bow down
to no state
and to no one else

so give me life, liberty
and freedom to pursue happiness
as it is my unalienable right

, , ,

  1. #1 by slpmartin on March 24, 2013 - 12:16 pm

    Some would say this is one of the greatest illusions ever created by a government…enjoyed your poem.

    • #2 by Ronald Kirk House on March 24, 2013 - 12:51 pm

      So true. The last few years have had so many events that seemed like they could have been taken right out of the pages of “Atlas Shrugged”. I sometimes feel like I’m living in an alternative reality. From “they didn’t build that” to “the rich need to do more to pay their fair share”. In New York recently, progressives tried to ban 32 oz soft drinks! I should read the book again, I think. I haven’t read it since college.

      I remember hearing in a documentary that Ayn cried for days because of all of the negative critical reviews when “Atlas Shrugged” was first published. All of those reviewers really owe her estate an apology. Without doubt the trends she saw before everyone else have continued to this day.

  2. #3 by Lorem Ipsum on March 30, 2013 - 3:13 am

    Now that’s a Declaration of Independence I can agree with…

Leave a Reply

