vacuum packed and sealed in plastic

Sunset behind the remaining three of Bristol's...

Sunset behind the remaining three of Bristol’s “Seven Sisters”. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

she was the warm tropical air
gathering her forces as if preparing for a storm
then she blew over me like a category 5 hurricane
from which nothing of me escaped harm

she was the sun setting on a moonless night
that left my world almost totally dark
and I was struggling in the cold to start a fire
but unable to find a match to even light a spark

she left me vacuum packed and sealed in plastic
forgotten and stored up on guest room closet shelf
not really a good feeling
in and of itself

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Ronald Kirk House on May 24, 2013 - 3:24 am

    Basic outline of this old college poem remains, but there were major revisions before I felt it was almost worth posting. Not sure if I improved it or not, though. Most of the poems that I have left need a lot of work, but I’m not sure they are worth it or not. Actually, I’m pretty sure they aren’t. I may give up on them. 🙂

  2. #2 by emmylgant on May 25, 2013 - 12:56 am

    Don’t. Look at them and smooth the edges. Anything that comes out of the heart is worth paying attention to.
    You too are stardust.
    🙂

  3. #4 by 35andupcynicismonhold on May 25, 2013 - 9:28 am

    all done in and done for, huh? 😉 life deals us harshly at times, what to do? 🙂 hello, sir RK…

    • #5 by Ronald Kirk House on June 19, 2013 - 2:02 am

      LOL. No, I’m not done in yet. I’m okay. I wrote that so long ago that I don’t even remember why, likely some girl that I had a crush on but never talked to in college. 🙂

      • #6 by 35andupcynicismonhold on June 19, 2013 - 2:06 am

        ahaha, you’re already very poetic and foolish as early as then? just kidding… am actually awed that somebody who deals with computers and systems could write as sweetly as you do, ahaha. hellowwie, sir RK… 🙂

Leave a Reply

