the lack of such sounds

Sleeping baby seen from crib height, behind it...

Sleeping baby seen from crib height, behind its head. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

she woke me up this morning
loudly crying in her crib at four
I guess that won’t happen now
that they don’t live here anymore

still, in the dark cloak
that now quietly surrounds
I only can seem to focus
on the lack of such sounds

and when I put her in bed at six this morn
after having rocked her back to sleep
I returned to my room with a blissful smile
when the exact same silence sounded so sweet

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Ronald Kirk House on July 13, 2013 - 12:22 am

    My son, daughter-in-law and granddaughter moved out today. An exciting time for them to finally have a place of their own. I am happy for them. Still, Grandpa can’t help but miss having them so close by.

  2. #2 by unfetteredbs on July 13, 2013 - 1:55 am

    So quiet and loving

  3. #4 by 35andupcynicismonhold on July 13, 2013 - 2:22 am

    less than 24 hours and you’re pining for the angel babe, sir RK. somebody’s missin’ the little one, huh… 😉 hellow!

    • #5 by Ronald Kirk House on July 16, 2013 - 6:56 am

      LOL. Yes, I’m such a wimp. I really miss her, but it helps fight off my depression when I think of how happy she must be with more space to walk around in and play. She’s got her own room instead of her crib being in her parents room, now. So I’m sure she is happy in her new home.

  4. #6 by 35andupcynicismonhold on July 16, 2013 - 7:36 am

    🙂 😉 ahihi, she’s near. you may see her tom…

    btw, do visit my Tagalog site when you’ve more time. it’s http://sasaliwngawit.wordpress.com. but am afraid the google translation isn’t very good, hehe. good day, sir 🙂

  5. #7 by lscotthoughts on July 25, 2013 - 6:39 am

    Beautiful words and sentiment, Ron, and adorable photo…

Leave a Reply

