sweet dreams are made of these

English: Marshmallows

English: Marshmallows (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I thought I saw a white dove swoop and fly by
and it made me stop and think and wonder why

until I realized that I was likely in an enchanting dream
because I was standing on a hillside of vanilla ice cream

nearby was a slowly flowing river of milk chocolate
and if only I had some kind of cup or a golden goblet

the sky was filled with marshmallows floating like balloons
but the weirdest thing was that overhead there were two moons

the trees were all brightly colored peppermint sticks
and I was tempted to give them each a couple of licks

this was all very strange, I’m sure you will agree
so, when I woke up I just had to go eat a Hostess Twinkie

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by gladiuspoeticus on August 19, 2013 - 12:18 am

    Sweet, indeed.

    • #2 by Ronald Kirk House on August 30, 2013 - 12:02 am

      Thanks. I actually woke up remembering a dream that inspired the first few stanzas of this. I have to admit that I didn’t go eat a twinkie for breakfast, though. 🙂

      • #3 by gladiuspoeticus on August 30, 2013 - 12:12 am

        Doesn’t matter. It’s about the spark that lit the fire.

  2. #4 by 35andupcynicismonhold on August 29, 2013 - 8:39 pm

    well, the blogger is a kid, hoho. hellow, sir RK… 😉

    • #5 by Ronald Kirk House on August 30, 2013 - 12:05 am

      I wonder if your Super Sweet Blogger Award was the unconscious source of inspiration for this one? I don’t normally dream about Hostess Ho Hos or Willy Wonka land. 🙂

      • #6 by 35andupcynicismonhold on August 30, 2013 - 10:55 pm

        oh, i still owe you about that one, sir RK. at my page, Holding It In, the instruction about doing a blog post about the award is in the comments (comment of sir Jnana)… i beg your pardon, a bit bus these days, we’ve been flooded, hoho… warm regards to you and yours… ^_^

Leave a Reply

