the sounds of that

Simple

Simple (Photo credit: R_rose)

I like keeping my poetry short and simple
because I’m basically a simple man
and sometimes I write while I’m sleeping
and without any real concept or plan

they don’t have similes or metaphors
because I can’t remember what all that stuff is
so, I know darn well better than to quit my day job
and try to make poetry my biz

they will often have some simple rhymes
because I like the sounds of that
of course, nothing too sophisticated
and that’s the fact, Jack

, , ,

  1. #1 by emmylgant on September 10, 2013 - 4:13 am

    And that’s the way I like you!
    Not to give you a swell head or anything like that, but I couldn’t help but think that the writer who stands the test of time is the one who can clearly formulate thoughts in an understandable way. There is nothing fancy or complicated in Hemingway’s style, and yet…
    Just sayin’.

    • #2 by Ronald Kirk House on September 10, 2013 - 10:15 am

      That’s very sweet of you to say. Don’t worry, it won’t go to my head. Your words just went straight to my heart and that’s where they will stay. Thank you. 🙂

  2. #3 by gladiuspoeticus on September 10, 2013 - 10:21 pm

    I sure can relate to that! Poetry for the masses.

  3. #6 by tinemagpayo on September 22, 2013 - 8:06 pm

    I have always believed that the beauty of poetry lies in its thought and meaning rather than the jargons. Poems should not be confused as something exclusive for the intellectual elite. Poems should be crafted for everyone who wants to see their feelings concretize in words 🙂

Leave a Reply

