this old dog

English: Lifting a mini car and platform with ...

English: Lifting a mini car and platform with my legs. Total weight 1,500 lbs (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I used to sit right up in bed
almost without any warning
now, I have all kinds of options
to get up every morning

I can roll off the bed
if my legs are aching and sore
and with a little luck and talent
I will land with my feet on the floor

or if my legs are good to move and lift
and I’m feeling all full of ambition
I’ll lift my legs and rock to pivot my body up
into a simple sitting position

or if my legs and my back both hurt
I can inch my way to the edge of the bed
until I slide off feet first onto the floor
trying not to fall onto my old gray head

, , ,

  1. #1 by emmylgant on September 15, 2013 - 2:04 am

    We are missing some sound effects here Ron! πŸ™‚
    Very entertaining read. LOL

    • #2 by Ronald Kirk House on September 15, 2013 - 6:40 am

      LOL, yeah. I can’t speak for all old dogs, but this old dog can still learn new tricks. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

