lesson of rip van willow

Life size bronze of Rip Van Winkle sculpted by...

Life size bronze of Rip Van Winkle sculpted by Richard Masloski, copyright 2000. Located between the Town Hall and the Main Street School. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

in my youth, one summer I went walking
all alone, with only nature for talking

under the weeping willow
I curled up using grass as a pillow

and began to dream of her
under endless beautiful skies of azure

her long golden hair was flowing
and a gentle spring breeze blowing

until dancing with her in fields of multicolor flowers
I lost all track of the passing of the hours

when I woke up I was old and gray
and she and my youth had long gone away

sadly the hands of time cannot be reset
so, let this be one lesson you never forget

, ,

  1. #1 by Ronald Kirk House on September 16, 2013 - 5:31 pm

    Okay, so that’s not how the story of Rip Van Winkle goes. But this is my blog and I get to make up my own tale for Rip Van Willow. LOL. yawn. Excuse me, I have to go take a long nap now.

Leave a Reply

