Julie James

JulieJOilJulie James sat behind me in class
and she liked to blow on my ear
trying hard to perturb and fluster me
but I still hold her memory so dear

when she talked to me about a school dance
I so much wanted to invite her to go
but I couldn’t get up the nerve to ask
out of fear that she might say no

she once handed me a note that said
‘Ronnie is a hunk a honcho’ or something
I remember thinking that was pretty funny
although, I wasn’t sure what point she was making

that year I really grew to like her a lot
although, she so loved to taunt and tease me
I looked forward each day to being near to her
even though she made concentrating in class not so easy

she had a really great sense of humor
and was always quick with a mischievous smile
Julie was really very cute and fun to be with
and I envy the man who met her at the end of the aisle

, , , ,

  1. #1 by nofrillswrapping on December 26, 2013 - 3:25 pm

    What a nice tribute and how gracious the last line.

    • #2 by Ronald Kirk House on December 26, 2013 - 4:04 pm

      Thank you. I hope if Julie ever reads this poem that she will feel the same about it.

Leave a Reply

