over nothing

Double-crested Cormorants,Phalacrocorax auritu...

Double-crested Cormorants, one at the nest are having an argument (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’ve had enough, it’s all I can take
and what difference will this make?

I don’t want to argue anymore with you
what good would going on like that really do?

we seem to fight over every little thing
and to every little slight, we fiercely cling

of course, in the end we are arguing over nothing
over the empty space filled with the absence of something

,

  1. #1 by slpmartin on September 21, 2013 - 7:06 am

    Last stanza was perfect to my way of thinking…love what is conveys about the real purpose of arguments.

    • #2 by Ronald Kirk House on September 21, 2013 - 8:56 am

      Thanks. The last line or stanza is often the most important for me. It’s not unusual for me to write my poems backwards. ๐Ÿ™‚ Starting with the wording or the concept of the last line or stanza, then I have to figure out how to fill in the rest of the poem to arrive with that conclusion.

      In this case, I’ve been torn between using “loving” and “something” as the final word in the last stanza. I like it both ways. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

