call out the marines

A U.S. Marine rappels from a UH-1N Huey helico...

A U.S. Marine rappels from a UH-1N Huey helicopter. (Photo credit: Official U.S. Navy Imagery)

a poor mentally ill women with a baby in the car
is shot and killed by the capital police
as the national debt heads us towards the cliffs
along the same path as the government of Greece

an unexplained bitter taste is left
so, I move my tongue around in my mouth
then I suddenly have a hacking cough
as if a dry dusty wind is coming up from the south

the sun slowly sets on a far distant horizon
as shadows of nothingness surround and swallow me
and my withered old soul is floating alone and lost
somewhere, in an endless dark blue sea

I am left bewildered and wondering
just what life and all this sadness means
and will we ever come to our senses
in time to call out the marines

, , , ,

  1. #1 by slpmartin on October 5, 2013 - 7:45 am

    A sad state of affairs in the country these days…or perhaps it’s always been there…just more visible these days.

    • #2 by Ronald Kirk House on October 5, 2013 - 8:24 am

      It baffles me that we have had a string of events where mentally ill individuals go out and shoot people and the only response is that guns are the problem. No calls by the President and VP to improve the laws relating to mental health care in this country. No calls to understand why these people aren’t identified and given (or forced to get) the help they need before tragedies like these. Then to top it off, I’m listening as commentators are calling the police and secret service as heroic for gunning down an unarmed mentally ill woman with a 1 year old in the car! I’m so heart broken that this women didn’t get the care and treatment that she needed before this incident and that her baby was put at such risk. Just heartbreaking. Maybe, I’m just ultra sensitive, since my mother is bi-polar, my wife and my daughter both suffer from bi-polar/schizophrenia. Sigh.

  2. #3 by LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words on October 10, 2013 - 5:28 am

    I think when the police got two standing ovations from congress, I lost any respect
    at all for our government ( I didn’t have alot left)…wonder why obama didn’t call her family?
    and I agree, why are we so hell bent on fighting over the guns (which she didn’t have)
    and not taking care of the humans

    I agree…*sigh*
    Take Care…
    )0(

    • #4 by Ronald Kirk House on October 10, 2013 - 8:19 pm

      Thank You. I suppose I’m especially sensitive since my mom, wife and daughter all suffer from mental illness. And my grand daughter is just a little over one year old, so I was think what if she was in that car. I know first hand that the laws about mental health in this country are really terrible. And yet no one seems to notice. The VP isn’t called upon to lead a crusade. The congress isn’t called upon to fix this injustice and keep it from ever happening again. Just heartbreaking.

Leave a Reply

