word wide travels

A drawing of a suitcase with the word "TR...

A drawing of a suitcase with the word “TRAVEL” written on it (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

some words take me all around the world
and leave me somewhere wanting more
other words seem to sing and touch my soul
often reaching out to me from a far distant shore

sometimes, the words are put to music
or include a picture or stand alone for impact
then there are some words that are read with such feeling
that my old heart can’t help but react

some are spoken in a lovely accent that is enchanting
and before I know what happened they had me under a spell
and I felt as if I was flying through the clouds
lost somewhere in a lovely imaginary land of a fairytale

of course, I haven’t moved and I am still sitting at home
getting ready to turn off my laptop and nap in my lazy chair
but before I go, I want to thank all the writers and poets
for blogging the words that took me everywhere

,

  1. #1 by Ronald Kirk House on October 12, 2013 - 2:00 pm

    I’ve had a stanza or two of this one waiting as a draft for awhile. It might need some more work, but that’s an advantage to a blog, isn’t it? I can always go back and rewrite or delete things. 🙂

  2. #2 by emmylgant on October 13, 2013 - 6:46 am

    I want to think that I am part of those voices that take you places before you go to sleep.
    This is a lovely poem and beautiful thoughts. Thank you Ron.
    You are not alone. Hugs

    • #3 by Ronald Kirk House on October 13, 2013 - 10:09 am

      Yes, definitely you are. I am always thrilled to return to the Med, and other magical places, in my imagination as inspired by your beautiful poems and stories.

      I have many more “friends” from blogging than I do in my workaday life. And their shared poems and stories and comments often make me feel like I know them so much more deeply than people that I just see for lunch and chat about events of the day with. Is that odd or funny or sad, I wonder.

      • #4 by emmylgant on October 13, 2013 - 10:47 am

        Thank you for the compliments. It’s always heart warming to see your footprints on my blog. It is not surprising I think that we feel we know fellow bloggers better than the people you see everyday casually because we share a piece of ourselves when we write. Not so when we talk about the weather with Sally Mae! 🙂
        We applaud and encourage each other’s creative efforts as well as comfort when we understand or read something that tells us one of us needs it. It’s all good my friend. You are OK.

    • #5 by Ronald Kirk House on October 13, 2013 - 10:30 am

      The kernel of this one started from a poet that shared a beautiful reading of their poem. I have always wished I could do that, but I don’t think I would be any good at it. Then, it occurred to me that I always read poems like they were written just for me. I am standing there holding a lover’s hand on a sandy beach, or feeling the pain of a lost loved one, or whatever is going on in the poem. Of course, I know the poems are not written specifically for me, but that made me think that it would be nice to write a poem that was written specifically for the poets that I read. 🙂

      • #6 by emmylgant on October 13, 2013 - 10:52 am

        You can! And in a way you are right, each poem you read is written just for you, the ideal audience; the one who hears the heart beat between the words.
        Just record on your PC, play it back… erase… start over… erase… nth try is perfect or pretty darn close. Upload to media file and post. Done.
        It will be fun.:-)

  3. #7 by 35andupcynicismonhold on October 18, 2013 - 7:28 am

    hello, sir RK… you’ve been to our country, hoho. glad to be taking you on tours, every now and then… hope things are well 🙂

    • #8 by Ronald Kirk House on October 19, 2013 - 1:04 am

      Thanks, I do so love the tours. 🙂 Things are well. Our government has reopened, so I guess I will keep getting paid to work, for now. Our daughter-in-law has the flu, so we offered to watch granddaughter for her this weekend.

Leave a Reply

