jury duty

3D Scales of Justice

3D Scales of Justice (Photo credit: StockMonkeys.com)

I got the jury duty notice
sometime last month in the mail
but I put it on my desk and forgot all about it
in an epic example of old age memory fail

then, I called in to the county court number
and they kindly gave me an alternate date
this time I put the date on my google calendar
so, I couldn’t forget and that worked out just great

it is an inconvenience for all that are selected
but it is our duty as citizens to serve
and I hope to do my best to be a fair juror
which is what all the parties involved in the case deserve

as I sit and try to listen fairly to days of testimony
without jumping to conclusion or making up my mind
I am thinking that I am proud to live in a country
where the lovely lady justice is neutral and blind

Enhanced by Zemanta
,

  1. #1 by mixedupmeme on January 21, 2014 - 2:49 am

    I have been called for duty several times and have served once. I want to think the case was not that important as it was not a criminal case. Just somebody suing somebody. But I know the verdict changed many lives. It lasted about a week and got harder every day.

    I get upset when the public is angry with jurors who do their best to come to a decision but it is not the decision that the public wants. There are rules that must be followed if one is on the jury.

    I also get a bit upset with jurors who speak publicly afterwards …. sometimes saying they voted a certain way but their gut told them to vote another way. We can’t vote with our guts.

    I like your poem and feel the same way. 🙂

  2. #3 by Mirabeth Ayn on February 27, 2014 - 4:42 pm

Leave a Reply

