long forgotten love (Hey Girl! Hey Girl!)

English: Broken heart sewn back together

English: Broken heart sewn back together (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

hey girl, hey girl, when are we gonna make it right?
hey girl, hey girl, when are you gonna take me back?
hey girl, hey girl, when is the world gonna be bright again?
hey girl, hey girl, when will our long forgotten love begin?

sometimes, things don’t work out
the way that we want them to
sometimes, we say and do things
that we both know we really shouldn’t do

sometimes, we seem to be lost adrift
separated in an endless undulating blue sea
sometimes, we forget when the world
was a tropical island with just you and me

sometimes, we don’t seem to be
going in the same direction anymore
sometimes, we don’t remember the words
and forget how easy it was to hum the score

hey girl, hey girl, when are we gonna make it right?
hey girl, hey girl, when are you gonna take me back?
hey girl, hey girl, when is the world gonna be bright again?
hey girl, hey girl, when will our long forgotten love begin?

Enhanced by Zemanta
  1. #1 by Ronald Kirk House on January 23, 2014 - 4:16 am

    I was having a weird dream where I was in a large house full of people that I didn’t recognize and that seemed to want to hurt me. I was chased out through a collapsing garage and down a path to a beach on a lake. Then, I took off flying to empty ruins on the other side of the lake. Strange stuff. When I woke up, the words and music of this song were going through my mind. I thought I should get up and write it down before it became long forgotten. 🙂

  2. #2 by 35andupcynicismonhold on January 23, 2014 - 7:49 am

    hello, sir RK… love the pic above, very romantic, hoho. hey, if the girl is long forgotten, let her stay there – in the beach where she’s probably having fun time (though not with you, hoho). am bad 😉

    • #3 by Ronald Kirk House on January 23, 2014 - 8:13 am

      LOL. That sounds like me. The girl on a beach with somebody else!

      After I woke up I couldn’t remember the last line of the original chorus from my dream. All I could remember was:

      hey girl, hey girl, when are we gonna make it right?
      hey girl, hey girl, when are you gonna take me back?
      hey girl, hey girl, when is the world gonna be bright?

      and that the second line rhyme with last line may have been “broken heart attack”. I couldn’t make sense of that partial line, so I added “again” to the third line and added a new final line about “long forgotten love” that rhymed with the third line instead of the second. I have to get up and write those dreams down fast or they get hard to remember. This morning, I could remember the melody and guitar riff, but sadly I no longer remember that now.

      • #4 by 35andupcynicismonhold on January 23, 2014 - 11:10 pm

        nah… the girl doesn’t know what she missed (your wonderful company), hoho.

        oh, no more room more panghihinayang (remorse for things that could have been). just sing To All The Girls I’ve Loved Before, ahaha. you know, being glad they came along? *wink*

        ahaha, you’re too sweet, sir. it’s a pity for those girls who did not pay attention, hah 😉

  3. #5 by gladiuspoeticus on January 25, 2014 - 5:31 am

    Wonderful! I can almost feel the melody.

  4. #6 by Cristina (@cristina_marita) on February 12, 2014 - 9:34 pm

    I didn’t know cupidon will come in my way in one day.
    I wasn’t prepared for that.
    He looked at my very strong…?
    Unfortunately I could not smile he scared me.

    • #7 by Ronald Kirk House on February 13, 2014 - 12:10 am

      these days I seem to like watching the romance movies on the Hallmark channel. If only life was like these movies. They always end happily.

  5. #8 by Cristina (@cristina_marita) on February 12, 2014 - 11:16 pm

    I mean at me…

Leave a Reply

