to endure

Warnie had inscribed these words on the tombst...

Warnie had inscribed these words on the tombstone: “Men must endure their going hence” which, rumour has it, was the quote off of a calendar. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I know you had been through a lot in recent years
with the transplant, the dialysis, and the pain
and you always took your burdens like a soldier
for I never heard you complain

I guess, all that I can say now
is that I will always respect and love you so
you were a good father and always there for all of us
and my heart really wishes you didn’t have to go

and I know that it is selfish of me
to wish for you to endure and still be here
since you’re freed from pain and resting in peace
while I am left with my memories of you, so dear

, , , ,

  1. #1 by slpmartin on September 10, 2014 - 8:43 am

    Sorry for you loss…peace be with you.

  2. #3 by MicheleMariePoetry on September 10, 2014 - 9:25 am

    But now he is not hindered by his body, his spirit is with you at your sweet whisper…more real than in the flesh…and more available…

  3. #5 by SuzyHazelwood on September 12, 2014 - 6:38 am

    I love your thoughts on this, and I know how that feels. Time moves so quickly, change is not easy. I hope you find like me, it becomes less painful as the days pass.

  4. #7 by emmylgant on September 13, 2014 - 12:36 pm

    When we lose a parent we become orphans. And that is hard.
    I am sorry Ron. My thoughts are with you.

    • #8 by Ronald Kirk House on September 16, 2014 - 12:20 pm

      I never thought of it that way. Thanks for your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

