next time I dream

English: Acrylic painting by Tibor Rényi

English: Acrylic painting by Tibor Rényi (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Sometimes, I dream of my maternal grandmother
Passed away, for what seems so many years now
And I’m always amazed that she seems so alive to me
Alive in my dreams, although I don’t know exactly how

Last night, I dreamed of my late father
Who just recently passed away
He was talking about things he wanted done
And was helping me get them done the right way

then, my mother asked me “who are you talking to?”
And reminded me that my father was gone from here
I said, of course, that I was talking to him
But, when I turned around there was no one there

Then, I broke down and cried
Which I don’t think I’ve ever done before in a dream
So, if my subconscious mind can recreate anything at all
Next time, I wish it would pick some happier theme

  1. #1 by SuzyHazelwood on September 12, 2014 - 6:48 am

    It would be great to pick what we’d like to dream. 🙂 It never works like that does it? Dreams like this are really important though, they can tell us quite a lot. Takes a bit of puzzling to work out exactly what sometimes! My parents occasionally visit my dreams too, it’s been a while since they passed away, I don’t often find it upsetting now, it feels more of a comfort. I hope your dreams change to something that inspires you!

    • #2 by Ronald Kirk House on September 15, 2014 - 7:06 pm

      Thank you for your thoughtful and comforting comments, Suzy.

  2. #3 by emmylgant on September 13, 2014 - 12:41 pm

    You are not alone my friend.

Leave a Reply

