thoughts of ending love

A Japanese couple holding hands on the beach

A Japanese couple holding hands on the beach (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

do not cry, my most dearest love
although, it is true I will soon be gone
and the visible trails of my short physical existence
will fade away like the setting sun

please, may the many memories of our love
be an eternal and enduring comfort to thee
for you know that is how in the end
that I would always wish for things to be

if I could, I would never let go of the memories
of all of our shared days of glorious sunshine
just us, walking together holding hands on sandy beaches
two lovers, entwined forever, floating in my mind

while the soothing sounds of ocean waves
still softly crash on far distant sandy shores
all that I once cherished in this earthly realm
and all that is left behind of me, is now yours

yes, my most dearest love, I would wish to remember
every most precious moment that I spent with thee
and wish that my thoughts of our unending love, like waves
would carry on through the infinite cosmos, endlessly

  1. #1 by gladiuspoeticus on December 23, 2014 - 1:00 pm

    Just beautiful! 😄

    • #2 by Ronald Kirk House on December 23, 2014 - 2:43 pm

      Thanks, my friend. After I wrote it, I was worried it was too maudlin, but then I was feeling a little overly sentimental at the time after all. So be it.

      I originally intended the title to be “thoughts of unending love”, but then I noticed that I had typed “ending” by mistake. As I was starting to fix the title, I decided I liked that better and left it as it was.

      • #3 by gladiuspoeticus on December 23, 2014 - 2:52 pm

        As I said, just beautiful. Thanks for explaining, my friend. 😄

  2. #4 by omgvivienlopez on January 17, 2015 - 7:13 pm

    heartfelt 🙂

    • #5 by Ronald Kirk House on January 18, 2015 - 8:47 am

      Thanks

      • #6 by omgvivienlopez on March 13, 2015 - 8:59 pm

        I love it for it mirrors why we cling so much to the belief of an afterlife, or why we continue to live at all. We live for love.

Leave a Reply

