don’t do the crime, if you can’t do the time

so, I’m sitting at the kitchen table early in the morning
trying to eat some breakfast, so that I can take my pill for the pain
when I hear the sounds of someone being investigated on Law and Order
coming from my living room and almost driving me insane

but, I have to stop eating and listen to the intense voices
because I can’t help but wonder who just got shot and what is going on
until it hits me that they are actors in a make believe story
and no one was killed because it isn’t even a real gun

after which I finish eating my bowl of cereal
thinking it’s not good to waste precious time
so, we should all turn off our TV sets and enjoy life
but we don’t and that is the real crime

, , , ,

  1. #1 by emmylgant on November 29, 2015 - 8:26 pm

    Time is like a river: always running yet always the same. I don’t think we can be in the moment all the time.
    Well done thoughtful piece.

    • #2 by Ronald Kirk House on November 30, 2015 - 7:02 am

      Thanks, but I fear that I have more in common with the sun in your last post. I’m only coming out to play. My hearts not in it and my soul is elsewhere these days. Pehaps my river of time has flushed me out to a cold sea somewhere. 😉

  2. #3 by emmylgant on November 30, 2015 - 11:08 am

    Awww. It’s the change of season and the news… Don’t let it get you down. Hugs.

  3. #5 by gladiuspoeticus on January 1, 2016 - 7:27 am

    Yes, that is the real crime, hanging onto our TV sets. Happy New Year to you my dear friend in poetry.

Leave a Reply

