all night trapped in-between

I had a dream last night where I got sucked into a twilight zone world down in-between and under the floor boards. It turned out there were a lot of people there that were wondering around emotionless and having been converted into a tiny cartoon-like replicas of their original selves. Each had an assigned role to do. They took me around and had me try my hand at various jobs. My first job was to sit in front of a large fish tank and to try to communicate with the fish in the tank. After awhile someone would come, shake their heads and then tell me to follow them to my next assignment. Apparently, I was not working out at anything in this strange place. I wondered how I was ever going to get free and return to the real world.

Eventually, I ended up as a failure back in front of the fish tank. I would try to talk with them but the fish only opened their mouths and blew bubbles at me, seemingly amused that I was back. After some time, I accidentally discovered that I could sing to the fish and they would respond by saying “oh my”. Someone showed up to investigate the noise and said that obviously I should be assigned to sing in the empty opera hall. I didn’t want to do that, so I sang out to them that I wanted to stay and talk to the fish. When the sound waves of my voice hit the person, they disappeared with a pop and returned back to the real world, freed from the strange cartoon-like existence.

I knew what I should do next, so I ran everywhere, singing to everyone that I could find to free them too. People were popping out right and left and lots of people were chasing me. They shouted that I should stop because I had not been assigned to do that. Finally, the place was empty and I popped back myself. I remember thinking to myself with satisfaction as I walked away that I should now say something appropriate, like “there’s no place like home”, but I just said, “oh, I miss the fish.”

  1. #1 by emmylgant on May 4, 2016 - 12:17 am

    It seems to me that you found your voice back and freed your ghosts. Popping like bubbles their reality is questioned. Time to pick up the music and feel good living.
    Good to see you writing. Hugs.

    • #2 by Ronald Kirk House on May 4, 2016 - 11:00 pm

      Thanks, you’re very sweet and you’ve got a nice interpretation of my dream. I have admit that I don’t analyze my dreams. I just try to write them down when I remember them and find the time. As long as they seem to make some sense and they aren’t too embarrassing. LOL. I always expect someone to comment that my dreams are weird.

Leave a Reply

