after they have gone

Abandoned Teddy

Abandoned Teddy (Photo credit: Mamboman1)

after they have gone, we pick up toys
left strewn and abandoned on the floor
and then I slowly go upstairs alone
heading for my room and sighing as I close the door

now there is no one to squeal with joy
upon grabbing the TV remote
and no one that cries when she falls
over whom I can then lovingly dote

I start to feel suffocated
by an airless void of absolute silence
so, I sit down and turn on my TV
almost in an act of defiance

but I know something is missing
that was there just moments before
leaving only the empty nothingness
and me and nothing more

Enhanced by Zemanta

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Ronald Kirk House on January 23, 2014 - 7:41 pm

    Oh, it gets so very quiet after every visit from the kids and my granddaughter.

  2. #2 by slpmartin on January 24, 2014 - 4:34 pm

    Children can fill a space with joy so quickly…enjoyed you poem.

    • #3 by Ronald Kirk House on January 25, 2014 - 5:07 am

      So true. From the squeal of joy when my granddaughter greets me, to her happy play with toys we keep for her and then her kiss goodbye when they leave, the space is full joy for me! Thanks, glad you liked it. I wasn’t sure if I really needed to add more context for the poem to make sense.

  3. #4 by gladiuspoeticus on February 4, 2014 - 3:07 pm

    It makes sense alright. Well done, my friend!

  4. #5 by 35andupcynicismonhold on February 19, 2014 - 5:30 am

    ahaha, i know the feeling, sir. we got a three-year old grandniece, so full of life. after she has just left, the house feels empty and too quiet for comfort… i love the part about turning on the tv in an act of deiance, nice touch… oh, your granddaughter’ll be back in no time to turn everything upside down, in no time, ahaha. 😉

Leave a comment